OpenERP 6 Installation Script

This site has been moved to “requesttutorial.com

Hello All

This is my First tutorial after one and half year since I posted my last tutorial, Its not actually a tutorial but its a Script for OpenERP 6 automatic Installation.

Yesterday I installed OpenERP 6.0.2, After Installation, I thought of why not to make a script of all the command that I issued so that its easy for me to reinstall again in future. I was using the methods provided in this site. I made a few of my own changes like I added the client as the site did not provided commands to do this.

Note:
ALL THE PASSWORDS ARE BY DEFAULT “pakistan” (without quotes, lower case), YOU CAN CHANGE THIS PASSWORD BY CHANGING IT IN OPENERP-SERVER.CONF.

Using the Script is simple.

  • Download the Script from here
  • Extract it
  • Run the following Command to execute the Script
    #sh openerp-6.0.2-waqar.sh
  • The rest of the process is self explatry, I guess there will be no problems
  • The Script contains few errors but you can safly ignor them.
  • Reboot your system after Installation
  • After Installation run OpenERP client by going to /opt/openerp/client/openerp-client.py

This is the first version, I will try to improve it in the future

Enjoy…

9 thoughts on “OpenERP 6 Installation Script

  1. Oh yes I men the script. So that I can then execute this (#sh openerp-6.0.2-waqar.sh) script

    I will be happy if this one or two steps installation could work.

  2. I can only download the file but not able to execute it on the prompt. However when I ls (list) the file on the (/) root I can find the downloaded file.

    I am new to ubuntu a command line but I can fairly understand some for commands.

    I suggest you rewrite the steps above as if you are writing for the novice or should I say write for us the newbies to Ubuntu.

    I hope you do not get offended.

    some hours earlier I was getting the spelling wrong of some words on the url.

    Thank you

    • If you are not able to execute it, It means the execution bit is off, easy way to do this is to use the GUI (I assume you will be using GNOME), just right click on the file, select properties, then click the permission tab, below in this tab, the execution section, click the check box. the close this box.

      then open terminal, go to the script location, and on terminal type

      #sh openerp-6.0.2-waqar.sh (enter)

      I hope this will help as I cant make it easy then this and please do consult a newbie guide to Linux.

Leave a Reply

